37 NIACC student-athletes receive NJCAA academic awards

Two NIACC student-athletes Emma Davison (cross country/track and field) and Payton Reams (softball) were NJCAA first-team all-academic selections with a 4.0 grade point average during the 2018-19 academic school year.

A total of 37 NIACC student-athletes received NJCAA academic awards.

Student-athletes from around the nation contributed to a new NJCAA record as 6,656 participants earned a spot on one of the three NJCAA all-academic teams.

This year's record eclipsed the previous mark of 6,329 set in the 2017-18 school year.

"Year in and year out, NJCAA student-athletes continue to set a new standard both on the field and in the classroom," NJCAA President and CEO Dr. Christopher Parker said. "The 2018-19 academic year was no different as student-athletes set the bar once again to reiterate the importance of academics throughout the NJCAA."

The following NIACC athletes received awards:


Emma Davison (cross country/track and field), Payton Reams (softball)

SECOND-TEAM (3.8 to 3.99 GPA)

Hailee Ausenhus (softball), Grant Dieken (men's cross country/track and field), Julia Dunlavey (women's cross country/track and field), Julian Echeverri (men's soccer), Hannah Faktor (softball), Julian Giustiniano (wrestling), Jarod Large (baseball), Alyssa Laxson (softball), Brodie Paulson (baseball), Kyle Pike (baseball), Tayler Schmidt (softball), Ciana Sonberg (softball), Ally Trager (women's cross country/track and field), Aleksandar Trujic (men's soccer).

THIRD-TEAM (3.6 to 3.79 GPA)

Ashley Alert (women's golf), Ben Boerjan (men's golf), Isaac Branstad (men's cross country/track and field), Anthony Catalano (baseball), Dylan Criquet Danielson (baseball), Austin Eckenrod (men's golf), Haley Fransen (women's soccer), Rosie Freeman (women's soccer), Taylor Gerdes (volleyball), Pedro Giordani (men's soccer), Sarah Goodrich (volleyball), Matthew Heinemann (men's golf), Kayla Lentz (volleyball), Morgan Luecht (women's golf), Callie McQuown (softball), Kasey Parish (women's track and field), Chase Rath (baseball), Evan Reifert (baseball), Kaci Sherwood (softball), Sarah Wendel (women's soccer); Mandy Willems (women's basketball).